February 15, 2015

IMG_1875

I hope everyone had a great Valentines Day. I was very sad not to spend it with my students. I’m sure they told you that I had some hand surgery last week,  but I am doing fine and typing like a champ with my left hand. We have had a couple of crazy weeks. I’m looking forward to getting back into a routine after February vacation.

This week we read a Frog and Toad story called, “The Garden.” We are learning how and when to add “ed” and “ing” to verbs. Sometimes we have to double the consonant before adding the new ending. For example, when we add “ing” to the word “swim”, we have to double the “m” to make the word “swimming.”

gab

In math we have been talking about place value. We have been breaking up two digit numbers into tens and ones and writing their expanded form.  We also used place value mats to model the numbers.

IMG_1870

In social studies we have been reading about George Washington and Abraham Lincoln as we celebrate Presidents Day.  We’ve also been learning about the difference between a city, town and a suburb as well as states and what it means to be a citizen.

IMG_1876

We have been coding the Bee Bots to practice math facts and sight words, but also we added a new challenge. Students created a maze and then had to code the Bee Bot as a team to navigate through the maze. The students worked hard and they did an awesome job!

I hope everyone enjoys the vacation. Hopefully the snow will stop sometime and melt before summer. 🙂 Mrs. Wolff

Leave a comment